Orta San Giulio our home
Orta San Giulio is located halfway along the eastern shore of Lake Orta, the end of a hillypromontory that slopes down to the shore, 45 kilometers from Novara capital.
The main part of the town is located on the lake shore opposite the Island of San Giulio, which is also part of the municipality, while halfway up the hill relief rises behind Legro.
Imolo The village consists of a few houses overlooking the lake, along the course of the state 229 in the direction of Gozzano, while the small Corconio nucleus is located a few kilometers further south, hidden from the road, on a terrace at about fifty meters lake level.
the center of Orta, completely pedestrian, is characterized by very picturesque narrow streets: the main one runs parallel to the shore of the lake and intersects with some steep alleyways that run from the lake leading to the Sacro Monte (UNESCO World Heritage) or to the extensive parking area.
At the center of town is Piazza Motta, real lounge overlooking the lake, from which boats depart the island of San Giulio. The square is surrounded on three sides by buildings well proportioned space, for most arcades. On the north side is the broletto or Palace of the Community of San Giulio Riviera, built in 1582, it consists of a porch on the ground floor, used for the market, and a meeting room on the first floor; Here it is exercised legislative power, as well as by the General Executive (composed of Members of the Episcopal feud Council) and is considered the symbol of the long period of self-rule in the region. The building is a blend of both classic and rustic elements, such as the frescoes on the facade and the irregular external staircase, small porch columns and roof in gneiss. The building culminates with a small bell tower. The current town hall of Orta’s Villa Bossi, with a beautiful garden overlooking the lake.
In front of the wide broletto starts uphill road called “Motta” (Caire Albertoletti), entirely paved with stones, the top of which stands the parish church of Santa Maria Assunta, built in 1485 and rebuilt in the second half of the eighteenth century. The climb is lined with old houses typical and some historic buildings including the Palazzo Gemelli, dating back to the sixteenth century characterized by three different buildings, the rounded frame and a few paintings on the façade and, on the other hand, the neoclassical Palazzo De Fortis Penotti.